Jump to Downloads

Board of Directors

CDA is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors. There is representation on the Board from most of the Provinces and Territories, and two Directors at Large, one of whom provides the Association's link with the International Commission on Large Dams (ICOLD).

Most members of the Board are elected for nominal two-year terms. The Vice President is elected for a three-year term: one year as Vice President, one as President and one as Past President. The Secretary-Treasurer, Directors and Directors-at-Large may serve up to two consecutive two-year terms. Elections are held by membership-wide ballot and confirmed by a vote at the Annual General Meeting.

The Board of Directors has the authority to appoint up to two more Director at Large to provide assistance in its oversight responsibilities for some specific governance or operational area. The appointed Directors at Large serve until the next Annual General Meeting.


The Association's operations are managed by the Executive Director, who reports to the Board of Directors, and are implemented by paid staff.


Catrin Bryan
Kelowna, BC
McMillen Jacobs Associates

Vice President



Terry Oswell 
BC Hydro
Vancouver, BC


Michel Dolbec
Quebec City, QC

Past President

Jean-Pierre Tournier
Montreal, QC

Executive Director

Don Butcher
Canadian Dam Association
Toronto, ON

British Columbia Director

Territories Director

David Morissette
Morrison Hershfield
Whitehorse, YK

Alberta Director

Javid Iqbal
Alberta Environment & Parks
Edmonton, AB

Saskatchewan Director

Jody Scammell
Saskatchewan Water Security Agency
Moose Jaw, SK

Manitoba Director

Val Yereniuk
Manitoba Hydro
Winnipeg, MB

Ontario Director

Navin Gautam
Ontario Power Generation
Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON

Quebec Director

Eric Péloquin
Montreal, QC

New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island Director

Bethanie Parker
New Brunswick Power
Fredericton, NB

Nova Scotia Director


John Woods
Minas Energy
Halifax, NS

Newfoundland & Labrador Director

Wendy Warford
St. John's, NL

Director-at-Large (ICOLD)

Michel Tremblay
Montréal, QC


Michael Cyr
Klohn Crippen Berger
Fredericton, NB