Committees play a vital role in the Canadian Dam Association (CDA).  In addition to both technical and standing committees, CDA has conference organizing committees.  The individuals that make up our committees are tireless individuals who are committed to the Association’s mission and goals and advancing the exchange of knowledge in the dam industry.

CDA Board of Directors

Standing Committees
Board Nominations Committee – Catrin Bryan, McMillen Jacobs Associates
Executive Committee – Terry Oswell, BC Hydro
Finance Committee – Michel Dolbec, WSP
Honours & Awards Committee – Caius Priscu, Anglo American
International Committee – Michel Tremblay, SNC-Lavalin
Membership Committee – Nancy Sutherland, Kleinschmidt
Professional Development Committee – Bill Chin, Klohn Crippen Berger
Regulation of Dams Committee – Mike Noseworthy, BC Ministry of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development 
Strategic Planning Committee – Marie-Hélène Briand, Hatch
Young Professionals Committee – Savanna Herman, RST Instruments 

Technical Committees
Dam Safety Committee - Jarrod Malenchak, Manitoba Hydro 

  • Dam Safety Reviews Working Group – Lead: Terry Oswell, BC Hydro
  • Design and Construction Working Group – Lead: Tony Rattue, SNC-Lavalin
  • Emergency Management Working Group – Lead: Tony Bennett, OPG
  • Public Safety Working Group – Lead: Tony Bennett, OPG
  • Dam Safety Program Management Working Group – Lead: Tony Bennett, OPG
  • Functions, Failure Modes and Failure Mechanisms Working Group – Lead: Stephen Rigbey 
  • “Dam Safety 101” Working Group Lead: Catrin Bryan, McMillen Jacobs Associates 

Mining Dams Committee - Chad LePoudre, BHP

  • Tailings Dam Breach Analysis Working Group – Lead: Mohammad Al-Mamun, Tetra Tech
  • Environmental Consequence Classification Working Group – Lead: Lee Nikl, Golder Associates
  • Development of Guidance on Slope Stability Modelling Working Group – Lead: Andy Small, Klohn Crippen Berger
  • Mine Waste Facilities (formerly Landforms) Working Group – Lead: Andy Small, Klohn Crippen Berger

Conference Organizing Committees
CDA 2021 – Winnipeg, MB - Val Yereniuk, Manitoba Hydro
CDA 2022 – St. John’s, NL - Julia Hiscock, Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro and Wendy Warford, WSP
CDA 2023 – coming soon!

Volunteering with CDA

 The CDA committees are always looking for individuals who are willing to contribute their time and knowledge.  Please review our committee descriptions and Terms of Reference above.  Indicate your area(s) of volunteer interest in an email to along with your completed application form.

Download: Volunteer Application Form

To learn more about our committees, please download the document below containing the Terms of Reference for all committees.  (This document is only available in English at this time.)