The CDA Scholarships

The Canadian Dam Association (CDA) offers annually two scholarships to full-time post¬graduate students attending a Canadian university or college whose program of study focuses on dam safety and/or the management of dams. The scholarships are awarded primarily on the basis of academic excellence and the relevance of the research project to the stated objective, as well as leadership and community involvement. Further information and the application information is available for download.

CDA Gary Salmon Memorial Scholarship

The $5,000 CDA – Gary Salmon Memorial Scholarship was established in 2009 in honour of the late Gary Salmon, P.Eng. and is awarded to the top ranked applicant.

Previous recipients are:

2009 - Tarek Hamade, McGill University
2009 - Kaley Crawford-Flett, University of British Columbia
2010 - Bryan Tatone, University of Toronto
2011 - Maryam Kalantarnia, McGill University
2012 - Jennifer Nafziger, University of Alberta
2013 - Carl Bernier, Université de Sherbrooke
2014 - Marie-Eve Jean, University of Alberta
2015 - Vincent Castonguay, University of Laval
2016 - Elena Zabolotnii, University of Alberta
2017 - Neeltje Slingerland, University of Alberta
2018 - Haley Schafer, University of Alberta
2019 - Lamine Boumaiza, Université du Québec à Chicoutimi 
2020 - Mayari Bernard-Garcia, Polytechnique Montréal

The CDA Gary Salmon Memorial Scholarship recipient, Mayari Bernard-Garcia of Polytechnique Montréal and CDA Research Scholarship winner Elijah Edie of the University of Manitoba were both recognized in the Fall 2020 issue of the CDA Bulletin magazine. 

CDA Student Award of Merit Scholarship

CDA Student Award of Merit Scholarship, valued at $2,500, was established in 2012 and is awarded to the second-ranked applicant in the CDA Gary Salmon Memorial Scholarship competition. The same application form as the CDA Gary Salmon Memorial Scholarship form should be used.

Previous recipients are:

2013 - Ryan Rasmussen, University of British Columbia
2014 - Marta Lopez-Egea, University of Ottawa
2015 - Kevin Sagan, University of Manitoba
2016 - Sylvain Renaud, École Polytechnique de Montréal
2017 - Brittany Dixon, University of New Brunswick
2018 - Fatoumata Maiga, University of Ottawa
2019 - Nicole Winstanley, University of Alberta
2020 - Elijah Edie, University of Manitoba 

In 2020, the Honours and Awards Committee of CDA received an unprecedented 12 high quality applications from top students from across Canada. The applications review panel awarded, under special circumstances in 2020, two additional awards, the CDA Student Award of Merit, each valued at $1,000. The two additional award recipients were: 

Ms. Laura Luna, a Master’s student at Dalhousie University with the research titled “Reliability-Based Geotechnical Design Framework for Flood-Protection Dikes”; and 
Mr. Ali Fallah Yeznabad, a Ph.D. student at Western University with the research titled “Safety of Embankment Dams: Probabilistic Method for Seismic Stability Evaluation”.

We congratulate all students and award recipients and wish them only the best in their studies and future careers.