Published Paper Award of Excellence

This award recognizes the contribution made by CDA members in authoring an outstanding article or technical paper related to dams. The award is offered annually to the author(s) of a selected publication made in Canada or internationally. Previous recipients include:

1996 - J. Levay
1999 - Dr. Thomas Vladut
2001 - The Bennett Dam Sinkhole Investigation
2006 - Stephen Rigbey
2007 - Marc Smith, Claude Marche and Benoît Robert
2008 - Ettore Contestabile and Abass Braimah
2009 - Vladimir Alicescu, Jean Pierre Tournier & Pierre Vannobel - Design and Construction of Nemiscau-1 Dam
2010 - Jose A. Vasquez and Jose J. Roncal - Testing River2D & Flow-3D for Sudden Dam-Break Flow Simulations
2011 - CDA/ACB Regulatory Committee
2012 - Jason Bond, Don Kim and John Fletcher - A Study of the Use of GPS Sensors for Structural Monitoring  of the Mactaquac Dam
2013 - Greg Snyder, Wade Beisiegel, Don MacIntyre - Kootenay River OM&S Manuals Streamlining for Functionality
2014 - Alexandre Tournier, Benoit Mathieu, Pierre Vannobel, Yves Tremblay - Conception du profil et construction du socle de béton sous le noyau des ouvrages de retenue de l’aménagement hydroélectrique de la Romaine-2
2014 - Jared Malenchak, Kevin Sydor, Joe Groeneveld, Don Murray, David Fuchs - Cofferdam Risk Review Assessment for River Management at the Keeyask Generating Station in Northern Manitoba, Canada
2015 - Bill Chin, Joseph Quinn, Mark Pernito, Jody Scammell - Geotechnical Assessment of Alameda Dam
2016 - John Perdikaris, Steve Nash - Responding to Major Catastrophic Events for Dam Owners 
2017 - Bill Kappel, Syed Abbas, Seifu Guangul, George Sabol, John Menninger, and Sal Figliuzzi  - Updating PMP for the Elbow River: Complex Terrain, Unique Solutions
2018 - Paul Knox, Andrew Cornett, Mitchel Provan, John Menniger, Rick Lux and Syed Abbas - Assessment of Debris Issues Impacting Design of a Flood Diversion Project in a Large Scale Physical Model
2019 - 
Valérie Michaud, Judson Kennedy, and Ryan Blanchard - Using Magnetometric Resistivity to Identify Preferential Seepage Flow Paths at a Tailings Dam

CDA paid tribute to industry leaders on October 8, 2019 in Calgary at the annual awards gala.  

2019 - Published Paper
Valérie Michaud, Judson Kennedy, and Ryan Blanchard are the 2019 winners for their paper from the 2018 CDA conference Using Magnetometric Resistivity to Identify Preferential Seepage Flow Paths at a Tailings Dam. 

Their paper started with a simple premise – dams leak! The challenge is to accurately characterize the leaks to determine the severity and the proper remediation. Their approach measuring magnetic fields to assess preferential seepage paths gives owners a less invasive tool to evaluate embankments. Their method was field-tested at a tailings dam in Canada to identify multiple seepage paths in an otherwise well-performing embankment.

Accepting the award from CDA President Jean-Pierre Tournier (right) on behalf of the authors is Nelson Carbonell of Willowstick.