CDA President Gilles Bourgeois, left, presents Jean-Pierre Tournier with the 2014 CDA Inge Anderson Award at 2014 CDA Annual Awards Gala


Andy Small receives Peter Halliday
Award at 2014 CDA Annual Awards Gala

Paul Meeks (left), President, Worthington Products Inc., receives the CDA 2014 Corporate Award from CDA President Gilles Bourgeois  

CDA Presents 2014 Annual Awards

CDA celebrated the achievements of two individuals, two teams and one corporation at its annual Awards Gala.

Inge Anderson Award: Jean-Pierre Tournier

Jean-Pierre Tournier is the 2014 recipient of CDA's  highest award, the Inge Anderson Award.  The Inge Anderson Award is presented every two years to recognize CDA members who distinguish themselves through significant contributions to the advancement of knowledge and practices related to dams in Canada or internationally.

Jean-Pierre completed his undergraduate engineering studies in Paris, France, before continuing studies in the 1960s in civil engineering at l’École Polytechnique de Montreal. He received his PhD. in soil mechanics from the University of Sherbrooke. He began his career at Hydro-Québec and moved to the consulting group LGL, known today as SNC-Lavalin. After a period in the 1980s when he co-founded and developed a group of consultants in Haiti, Jean Pierre returned to Montreal and the LGL Group. He was seconded to Hydro-Québec to lead a large team of professionals in hydropower and geotechnical design, managing quality assurance, providing strategic advice, and participating on expert panels.

Jean-Pierre’s rich career has involved him as a designer, project leader and project manager in virtually all of the hydroelectric developments in Québec, including Eastmain, Opinaca, La Grande and Laforge-1 for the James Bay Project. He has participated on expert panels and as a specialist advisor for numerous dam projects across Canada, including WAC Bennett Dam in British Columbia. He has authored or co-authored over 50 technical papers, and represented Canada on technical committees of the International Commission on Large Dams, including his present role as Chair of the Committee on Embankment Dams. Jean-Pierre served two terms on the CDA Board of Directors, was Director responsible for ICOLD activities, and was a key contributor to the great success of the 2013 CDA conference in Montreal.
Throughout his career, Jean-Pierre has earned the respect of his colleagues through his commitment to technical excellence, advancing knowledge, and collaboration with other professionals.

Peter Halliday Award for Service: Andy Small

Andy Small is the 2014 recipient of the Peter Halliday Award, which recognizes CDA members for their valued contributions and outstanding commitment to the advancement of the Association.

Andy has been a willing and tireless CDA volunteer for more than 15 years, including serving on the CDA Board of Directors for the last six years. One of his earliest contributions was as a member of the Organizing Committee for the 1999 CDA Conference held in Sudbury.  He was the Treasurer and member of the Technical Committee for the 2001 CDA Conference held in Fredericton; served on Technical Committee for 2007 CDA conference held in St. John’s, Newfoundland; and was Chair of the 2011 CDA Conference in Fredericton. He also found the time to spearhead the organization of a number of CDA workshops in Atlantic Canada.

On the national level, Andy spares no effort to promote CDA among his peers in the mining sector. For the last 10 years or so, Andy has convened a meeting with the mining delegates at each CDA Conference to discuss topics of mutual interest and how CDA could provide and improve services to members in the mining sector. These discussions have led to the formation of the CDA Mining Dams Committee. Under Andy’s leadership, the Mining Committee embarked on and completed a multi-year project to develop the newly released Technical Bulletin on the application of dam safety guidelines to mining dams. Andy’s effort in coordinating this undertaking cannot be understated and has earned him the respect and appreciation of all of CDA.

Corporate Award: Worthington Products Inc. & President Paul Meeks

Each year CDA recognized member organizations who have distinguished themselves for their contributions to the industry or their strong support of the Association. Worthington Products, under the guidance of President Paul Meeks, has been an enthusiastic supporter of CDA for at least 10 years. Worthington has distinguished itself as one of the steadfast exhibitors and sponsors that help make our conferences such a success.
Additionally, Worthington’s involvement in the delivery of the Public Safety Around Dams initiative helped make that program the huge success it is today. Their input and presence at workshops and training events was instrumental in CDA being able to successfully deliver that program.

Worthington continues to raise the profile of CDA worldwide. Its products are used in over 50 countries where the company shares with the international dam industry the good work of CDA and the resources and technical guidance that are available.

Published Paper Awards of Excellence

Every year CDA acknowledges excellence in papers published in journals or presented at conferences. This year, two papers from the 2013 CDA Conference were identified as being equally deserving of the award.

Cofferdam Risk Review Assessment for River Management at the Keeyask Generating Station in Northern Manitoba, Canada

Jared Malenchak, Kevin Sydor, Joe Groeneveld, Don Murray and David Fuchs
Thinking-outside-the-box and the use of Risk Analysis, a current hot-topic, have opened up an opportunity for cost savings on this project while still respecting dam safety criteria. Other projects can benefit from a similar approach and this paper contributes significantly to our collective knowledge. 

Conception du profil et construction du socle de béton sous le noyau des ouvrages de retenue de l’aménagement hydroélectrique de la Romaine-2.

Alexandre Tournier, Benoit Mathieu, Pierre Vannobel and Yves Tremblay

Water retaining structures were built using an asphaltic core, a first in America for a dam of this size. Several rock parameters (geometry, lithology, structure) were controlling the extent of the work for foundation preparation of the concrete footing. This paper illustrates the various design and construction stages that were conducted under a fast track schedule in order not to delay the contractor and meet target milestones.