Committees play a vital role in the Canadian Dam Association (CDA).  In addition to both technical and standing committees, CDA has conference organizing committees.  The individuals that make up our committees are tireless individuals who are committed to the Association’s mission and goals and advancing the exchange of knowledge in the dam industry.

CDA Board of Directors

Standing Committees
Board Nominations - Jean-Pierre Tournier, Hydro Quebec
Bulletin Editorial - Krista Halayko, Manitoba Hydro
Executive - Catrin Bryan, McMillen Jacobs Associates
Finance - Michel Dolbec, WSP
Honours & Awards - Caius Priscu, Anglo American
International - Michel Tremblay, SNC Lavalin
Membership - Nancy Sutherland, Kleinschmidt
Professional Development - Terry Oswell, BC Hydro
Regulation of Dams - Ken Cain, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry
Strategic Planning - Terry Oswell, BC Hydro
Young Professionals - Katherine Miller, SNC Lavalin

Technical Committees
Dam Safety - Jarrod Malenchak, Manitoba Hydro
1. Dam Safety Reviews Working Group - Terry Oswell, BC Hydro
2. Design and Construction Working Group - Tony Rattue, SNC Lavalin
3. Emergency Management Working Group - Tony Bennett, Ontario Power Generation
4. Public Safety Working Group - Tony Bennett, Ontario Power Generation

Mining Dams - Chad LePoudre, BHP
1. Dam into Landforms Working Group - Andy Small, Klohn Crippen Berger
2. Environmental Consequences Working Group - Lee Nikl, Golder
3. Tailings Dam Breach Working Group - Mamun Al-Mamun, Tetra Tech

Conference Organizing Committees
CDA 2021 – Winnipeg, MB - Val Yereniuk, Manitoba Hydro
CDA 2022 – St. John’s, NL - Julia Hiscock, Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro and Wendy Warford, Stantec
CDA 2023 – coming soon!

Volunteering with CDA
The CDA committees are always looking for individuals who are willing to contribute their time and knowledge.  Please review our committee listing above and if you’re interested in volunteering on one of the CDA’s committees, please contact or call the CDA office at (416) 255-7076 for more information.

To learn more about our committees, please download the document below containing the Terms of Reference for all committees.